Partheno… what?

Parthenocarpic cucumbers require no pollination.‎ The seeds are also expensive at $1.25 each which made me balk, but I decided that this might be a good thing if I don’t have to be out in the garden with a q-tip to back-up the bees. So I forked out $6 and decided to give things a go.

So is it working?  I had my doubts at the start when the first few blooms withered away.  I thought about going out to pollinate them, but there were no male flowers from which to gather pollen.  Surely and slowly, we started to see progress.  We’ve recouped the cost of the seed‎ and haven’t had to buy cucumbers for over a month which is great because our household eats a lot of them.

parthenocarpic cucumber

parthenocarpic cucumber

another partheno... what

another partheno… what

 

Leave a comment